top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePurify An Urban Sweat Lodge

World Coconut Day!

It is World Coconut Day!! I am such a lover of all things coconut, from recipes, clean products to dranks! This holiday is celebrated in Asian and Pacific nations, home to most of the world's coconut-producing areas and production centers. The coconut palm tree was not a native to the United States. It was introduced many years ago and now grows well along coastal regions in southern states like Florida!



I wanted to place a spotlight on the magical benefits and wonders of coconuts! Ways I incorporate coconut into my daily life:


Oil pulling:

It is best with coconut oil as it has an antimicrobial effect. It whitens teeth, kills harmful bacteria in your mouth, prevents cavities and gingivitis. It also detoxifies the body!


Coconut water:

Drinking coconut water provides you with all the electrolytes you will ever require. Electrolytes are essential for keeping your body hydrated.


Coconut rum:

Need I say more?


Coconut oil:

I have sensitive skin, so I like to use it to remove my makeup. Some estheticians say not to use it as it could clog your pores, but my skin loves it. I also like to use it as a hair mask; it helps make it shiny and silky. Another way to use coconut oil is by applying it to your body after the shower or post-dry brushing. Lastly, I like to put a spoonful in my bath as it makes my skin super soft!


Cooking with coconut oil:

Coconut oil has a high smoke point and longer shelf life. In addition, it is a solid at room temperature and can be used in baking recipes, greasing pans, frying, and replacement for vegetable oil and butter.


Refined versus unrefined coconut oil:

There are plenty of options out there at your local grocery store for a jar of coconut oil. Refined coconut oil has a milder scent and flavor but a high smoke point. Unrefined coconut oil is minimally processed with a stronger flavor and a lower smoke point. They both have a similar nutrient content and are excellent sources of healthy fat. (I use unrefined to take my makeup off)



Coconut shavings:

I like to add coconut shavings to my baking recipes/treats, smoothies, and acai bowls!


If you are a Sarasota local, you have to visit The Sarasota Farmer's Market and visit Kinseys Produce stand. They have fresh coconuts in a cooler, and they crack them open right there. Then, she places a straw in the coconut and hands it over to you. It is so refreshing and not too sweet! After that, walk around the rest of the farmers market with a chilled coconut milk beverage, browse and shop with a healthy little handheld drink.




The key benefits of fresh coconut milk are:

  • the hydrating aspects

  • improves digestive system

  • strengthens immune system

  • counter-acts against bloating

  • boosts energy

  • full of antioxidants



One of my favorite product lines is Kopari. Their number one ingredient is, can you guess? Yup COCONUTS! Their brand is paraben-free, cruelty-free, vegan, sulfate-free, and phthalate-free. From their website, "brighten, tighten, clarify, smooth, soothe and hydrate with Kopari's spa-worthy actives- powered coconut beauty products. Our coconuts are the highest grade, cold-pressed, and sustainably sourced from small family farms in the Philippines." I listed my go-tos from Kopari on my amazon storefront. Click the link below and then scroll down to 'clean beauty.' www.amazon.com/shop/samanthalbano


I might be too old now for a Christmas list, but Kopari products are usually on it! The deodorant smells fantastic, the hydrating body wash takes me on a tropical vacation, is so moisturizing, and leaves my skin feeling silky smooth!


Let me know if you love coconuts as much as I do in the comments below and if you try any Kopari products!


Warmly,

Samantha Albano

20 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page